Board of Directors

Debbie Hewitt MBE


Debbie joined the Board on 1 June 2009 as an Independent Non-Executive Director and became Non-Executive Chairman on 27 April 2010 (acting Chairman from 25 March 2010).  She is Non-Executive Chairman of The Restaurant Group plc and is a Non-Executive Director of NCC Group plc and Redrow PLC.  She also holds a Non-Executive Director role in private companies White Stuff, Visa UK, Domestic and General and BGL Group.  Debbie was previously the Managing Director of RAC plc.


Brian Brick


Brian joined the Board as an Independent Non-Executive Director on 1 September 2008 and was appointed Chief Executive on 19 March 2009, having been acting Chief Executive since 19 January 2009.  He is a Director of Ambleside Consulting Limited, Ambleside Estates Limited and Ambleside Investments Limited.  Brian successfully sold Specialty Retail Group Limited in 2005.


Tony Bennett 


Tony joined the Board on 15 August 2016 as Finance Director.  He was previously the Finance Director for Charles Tyrwhitt, which he joined in 2009. Prior to that he was the Head of Commercial Finance at Selfridges Retail Ltd and Chief Financial Officer at Confetti Network Ltd. Tony has a deep commercial background in online, multi-site and international consumer businesses, with highly relevant experience in Menswear. 


Maurice Helfgott


Maurice joined the Board on 19 October 2010 as Senior Independent Non-Executive Director.  He is the Founder Director of Amery Capital, Chairman of Oliver Sweeney, Long Tall Sally, MyOptique Group and He is also a Non-Executive Director of END.  Maurice was previously a main Board Director of Marks and Spencer plc, with responsibility for Clothing.


Bryan Portman


Bryan joined the Board on 1 July 2011 and chairs the Audit Committee.  He has been Finance Director of a number of retail and Financial Services businesses.  His most recent executive role was as Chief Financial Officer of the Co-Operative Group until he left in 2007, and prior to joining the Co-Operative Group was Chief Executive at Britannic Group plc.  Before that he held senior management and financial roles within Lloyds TSB Group plc and Safeway plc.  Bryan is also Chairman of Family Action charity.


Zoe Morgan


Zoe joined the Board on 1 November 2012.  She has been Marketing Director of a number of significant retail, consumer and Financial Services businesses including Marketing Director of the Co-Operative Group, Boots plc and HBoS. She has a broad commercial background in multi-site, retail businesses, with a strong skill set in strategy, brand management and CRM.  Zoe is Non-Executive Director of AIM-listed Finsbury Food Group Plc and holds other Non-Executive Directorships in Kind Consumer Limited, The Good Care Group and Burbidge & Son Limited.


Alex Gersh


Alex joined the Board on 1 November 2017 as a Non-Executive Director. Alex is the CFO of Paddy Power Betfair Group, having been appointed as CFO of Betfair Group plc in 2012. As well as his strong listed finance experience, he brings broad strategic, commercial and digital skills, along with international consumer insight. Alex will become Chairman of the Audit Committee in May 2018, when, as previously announced, the current Chairman of Audit, Bryan Portman, retires from the Board.